I Tried and I Liked It!

So, when it comes to knitting socks, I tend to be a “stick to what you know” kind of gal. You know, find a great pattern and make a million pairs of THAT sock. . . find a great set of needles, and make a million pairs of socks with THOSE needles. . . that’s me! Until . . .

Some of my socks. . . See? The same general pattern. Maybe someday I’ll venture farther afield.

Back in the mid-1990s I came across a basic German sock pattern (yeah, I speak German – that’s a long story about nothing), translated it, tweaked it a bit to my liking, and began knitting socks. I mean a lot of socks, usually in German sock yarns, like Meilenweit, Regia, and Opal; long socks, short socks, baby socks, tiny socks that I would stick to magnets and sell in my pop-up shop. Occasionally I would try a new pattern, but always went back to my sweet, trusty, basic Big Foot Sock.

These bamboo double pointed needles have some major knitting miles on them!
These bamboo double pointed needles have some major knitting miles on them!
My sweet Pony Pearls were fun to work with because of the metal on the inside, it gave my work a good amount of bounce!
These are my Swallow Casein needles, which my cat used to love to lick! I loved working with them but was always afraid they would snap on me!

I started knitting socks on double pointed needles, early on I used bamboo needles, then moved on to Pony Pearl double pointed needles (these are fun, they are flexible plastic on the outside, and some sort of metal on the outside). From there, I moved over to Swallow Casein double pointed needles, which I loved. Loved! Loved. Until I discovered knitting socks on two circular needles. Two Addi circulars. There I stayed for years until I discovered Chiaogoo Circulars and Magic Loop, which I had decided was my ultimate destination. Oh, there were plenty of other tempting options: Karbonz, 9″ circulars, Addi Flexi-Flips and more, but nothing turned my head. . .

These are my favorite needles! Chiaogoo Red Size 1 – my ride or die, go-to for sure!

Until . . . Addi Rocket Squared!!! I picked up a set of #1s and cast on a new pair, and yes sir-ee babe, these are great! The nubbies on the needles keep them from sliding out when they are laying around (or in my project bag and I grab them out quickly), and they feel really cool as I work. They help me knit faster, which is a plus when doing socks on a size 1 needle! šŸ˜‰

My brand new Addi Rocket Squared making quick work of this World of Yarn Antarctica in my Big Foot Fino pattern

The moral of the story? Try it, you’ll like it! Now, I’m not saying that I’m gonna go out and buy up every needle that comes down the pike, but I will be more open to new things to put in my knitting bag!

What new things would you be open to trying? A new technique? A different type of yarn? A different brand of needle? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a comment